Most Anticipated 2021 Winter Releases

2021 winter

We have finally made it through to 2021; but even if it’s a new year, we’re probably going to be dealing with the same crap for the next couple of months even still. Luckily, there’s maybe a vaccine coming, so we have one thing to be looking forward to. Anyway, a new year does mean new book releases to look forward to. So today, I’m going to be chatting about all of the releases that I am looking forward to in January and February. There are so many amazing books coming out next year; but I really had to narrow it down to my top anticipated ones. If you want a more intensive list of books, you can check out bookbirds here like I did.

January 5th – Hold Back the Tide 

hold back the tideEveryone in this quiet lakeside community knows that Alva’s father killed her mother, all those years ago. There wasn’t enough proof to arrest him, though, and with no other family, Alva’s been forced to live with her mother’s murderer, doing her best to survive until she can earn enough money to run away.

One of her chores is to monitor water levels in the loch-a task her father takes very seriously. Their family has been the guardian of the loch for generations. It’s a cold, lonely task, and a few times, Alva can swear she feels someone watching her.
But the more Alva investigates, the more she realizes that the truth can be more monstrous than lies, and that you can never escape your past . .

The thing that intrigues me the most about this is the cover and the whole thing about Alva’s father murdering her mother. Though I will admit that YA thrillers are usually hit or miss for me but this one sounds promising. And I’m hoping it’ll be good!

January 19 – Cast in Firelight

cast in firelightAdraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people. Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

I’m always on the lookout for good fantasy novel and this one definitely looks promising. It also apparently has witches? which I am always down for – as I have discovered that I have a thing for witches in recent years. This is also diverse and as I’m hoping to diversify my reading next year, this will be a step in the right direction. Not to mention, that cover???? Though I could do without the people.

January 19 – Last Night at the Telegraph Club

9780803739260_NearlyGone_JKT.inddSeventeen-year-old Lily Hu can’t remember exactly when the question took root, but the answer was in full bloom the moment she and Kathleen Miller walked under the flashing neon sign of a lesbian bar called the Telegraph Club.

America in 1954 is not a safe place for two girls to fall in love, especially not in Chinatown. Red-Scare paranoia threatens everyone, including Chinese Americans like Lily. With deportation looming over her father—despite his hard-won citizenship—Lily and Kath risk everything to let their love see the light of day.

The only really thing I need to know about this is that it’s set in the 50s and it’s gay? I can already feel the tension and stress from this novel and I’m so curious already. And as I said above that I’m really looking forward to diversifying my reading, this is great.

January 21 – The Mask of Mirrors 

the mask of mirrorsRenata Viraudax is a con artist who has come to the sparkling city of Nadezra — the city of dreams — with one goal: to trick her way into a noble house and secure her fortune and her sister’s future.

But as she’s drawn into the elite world of House Traementis, she realizes her masquerade is just one of many surrounding her. And as corrupt magic begins to weave its way through Nadezra, the poisonous feuds of its aristocrats and the shadowy dangers of its impoverished underbelly become tangled — with Ren at their heart.

This is an adult fantasy novel that only just came to my attention just the other day. Now I don’t typically read adult fantasy, mostly because my brain just doesn’t comprehend it much but I think I might push through and give this one a go. A bisexual con artist main character who has to team up with a vigilante and a crime lord in order to save their city? I’m definitely curious to see what the heck this one is all about!

January 26th – Wings of Ebony 

wings of ebnoy“Make a way out of no way” is just the way of life for Rue. But when her mother is shot dead on her doorstep, life for her and her younger sister changes forever. Rue’s taken from her neighborhood by the father she never knew, forced to leave her little sister behind, and whisked away to Ghizon—a hidden island of magic wielders.

Rue is the only half-god, half-human there, where leaders protect their magical powers at all costs and thrive on human suffering. Miserable and desperate to see her sister on the anniversary of their mother’s death, Rue breaks Ghizon’s sacred Do Not Leave Law and returns to Houston, only to discover that Black kids are being forced into crime and violence. And her sister, Tasha, is in danger of falling sway to the very forces that claimed their mother’s life.

January 26th – A Vow So Bold and Deadly 

Face your fears, fight the battle.
a vow so bold & deadlyEmberfall is crumbling fast, torn between those who believe Rhen is the rightful prince and those who are eager to begin a new era under Grey, the true heir. Grey has agreed to wait two months before attacking Emberfall, and in that time, Rhen has turned away from everyone—even Harper, as she desperately tries to help him find a path to peace.

Fight the battle, save the kingdom.
Meanwhile, Lia Mara struggles to rule Syhl Shallow with a gentler hand than her mother. But after enjoying decades of peace once magic was driven out of their lands, some of her subjects are angry Lia Mara has an enchanted prince and magical scraver by her side. As Grey’s deadline draws nearer, Lia Mara questions if she can be the queen her country needs.

Is this book on my most anticipated list even though I haven’t read book 2 yet? Hmm maybe. But that’s just how I row. I’m definitely going to be reading book two in the new year and then continuing/finishing this series. I really enjoyed book one and I was intrigued to see where it from there.

February 2nd – City of Villains  

city of villiansMary Elizabeth Heart is a high school senior by day, but by night she’s an intern at the Monarch City police department. She watches with envy from behind a desk as detectives come and go, trying to contain the city’s growing crime rate. For years, tension has simmered between the city’s wealthy elite, and their plans to gentrify the decaying neighborhood called the Scar—once upon a time the epicenter of all things magic.

This book is blurb as “Disney’s Villains meet Gotham in this gritty fairy tale-inspired crime series.” and with my obsession’s with Disney and with DC comics, that’s really all I need to know to be excited for this novel.

February 23rd – A Dark and Hollow Star 

a dark and hollow starThe “ironborn” half-fae outcast of her royal fae family.
A tempestuous Fury, exiled to earth from the Immortal Realm and hellbent on revenge.
A dutiful fae prince, determined to earn his place on the throne.
The prince’s brooding guardian, burdened with a terrible secret.

For centuries, the Eight Courts of Folk have lived among us, concealed by magic and bound by law to do no harm to humans. This arrangement has long kept peace in the Courts—until a series of gruesome and ritualistic murders rocks the city of Toronto and threatens to expose faeries to the human world.

Now this novel is blurb as “the cruel prince meets city of bones” and while I hated The Cruel Prince (*hides in shame*)The Mortal Instruments is one of my favorite series ever. But also it’s about a bunch of queer characters who may be half fae running around trying to catch a serial killer? Sign me the fuck up?

February 23rd – Mazie 

mazieMazie has dreamed of being on Broadway since she could walk. Growing up in her small Nebraska town, that always seemed like an impossible dream. But when Mazie’s grandmother dies and leaves her a letter and enough money for a six-week stay in New York City, Mazie jumps at the chance to follow her dream, leaving behind everything–and everyone–she’s ever known.

Of course, nothing can prepare Mazie for the loudness and chaos of the city. She’s homesick for her family and the familiarity of her momma’s cooking, and lovesick for Jesse–the boyfriend whose heart she broke when she left. But Mazie is determined to make her time in New York count. She is determined to succeed.

I think that since The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, I’ve started a new intrigue on Hollywood and actors, so I’m definitely excited for this one. I also have this thing for small town people who go on and make it big. While it’s not mentioned in the synopsis, it’s listed as being lgbt, so I’m curious to see what’s that all about. Also can we just talk about that marquee cover.


Like I’ve said, there’s so many amazing books coming out in 2021 that have me excited or intrigued; but I forced myself to narrow it down as much as possible. Especially since I barely touched on my most anticipated releases for 2020…. Yeah, we’re just not going to talk about that.

What books are y’all most looking forward to? Let’s chat in the comments!  

name

Leave a comment